Tanner Scale

The Tanner Scale describes, both pictorially and descriptively, the external changes that occur in the time period between the onset of puberty and the achievement of full maturity for both girls and boys. Characterizations of pubertal status are assessed by breast development in girls, genital development in boys and pubic hair growth in both. The Tanner stages of pubertal development are divided on a 5 item scale. Stage 1 represents no pubertal development and full maturation is represented as stage 5

We showed adolescents figures of breast (girls only), genital (boys only) and pubic hair development. In these figures, 5 stages of development were shown and children were asked to indicate at what stage their own body was. Sum scores can be calculated such that children can be categorized in 5 pubertal development stages (Tanner 1-5).

Available measurements
  • Main Cohort

  • 13-14 years
  • CC
    12.5 - 16.8 years   From 2016-01-01 to 2019-12-31

    Mode of collection SelfAdministeredQuestionnaire
    Instrument name Tanner Staging
    Alternate name mijn vragenlijst - deel1
    Measure name Puberty: Sexual Maturity Rating
    You can also access this dataset using the API (see API Docs).